You must be of legal drinking age in your country to enter this site. Please select your country and date of birth below and press "Submit".

Where are you from?

Are you over the age of 21?

We will not share your information or post to your Facebook wall with out your permission.

Central Otago

Located nearly at the bottom of the South Island of New Zealand, Central Otago is the World’s most southerly wine region at 45° South latitude. It is New Zealand's only true continental climate with greater extremes of daily and seasonal temperatures than are found in any of the country's maritime regions.

Soil structures vary dramatically from those of other regions with heavy deposits of mica and schists in silt loams. A new, but aggressively expanding wine area, Central Otago is now New Zealand’s seventh largest wine region.

Pinot Noir is the dominant grape variety, a status that seems certain to be maintained if demand and accolades are any measure. The wines of Central Otago have a purity, intensity and vibrancy that seems totally appropriate to anyone who has visited the region and breathed the pure mountain air.

Summers are dry and hot with the long, cool, dry Autumn allowing Pinot Noir the hang time for enhanced flavour development. This provides depth of colour and tannin ripeness that retains acid, without over developing the sugars.

Central Otago has four main sub-regions separated by mountains and gorges: Cromwell Basin (largest sub region, including Bannockburn, Lowburn and Bendigo), Gibbston, Wanaka, and Alexandra. Kim Crawford Small Parcels Rise and Shine Pinot Noir is sourced from vineyards in the Rise and Shine Creek, the home of gold mining in Bendigo, also known for its dark berry fruits flavours.

Marlborough Central Otago Hawkes Bay Gisborne Canterbury

Kim Crawford New Zealand Wines

Learn more

Undo Ordinary

Learn More